What are wii writing?

Typing on the Wii is probably not the most fun thing you could do but it does work. I’m impressed with the web browser, Opera, which works very well even without using all of the available input methods.

WordPress works pretty well but don’t expect to write a quick post–typing by aiming a remote at an on-screen keyboard is not even in the ballpark of quick–and forget about formatting.

Better yet, don’t blog from your Wii. It’s just not worth it. This took forever.

Another plus: AJAX works. So does dbx.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

21 Comments

  1. How does Google Maps look/work?

    Reply
  2. I havent tried Google Maps yet, but it should work just fine.

    Reply
  3. I will try it but my bet is that the lack of a click+drag interface will make it unusable.

    Reply
  4. I’ve done a bit oy typing on the Wii. What stuck out in my mind was typing in passwords. It’s a bit sketchy with the keyboard up there on the screen :)

    Reply
  5. Maps: Click+drag works. Double click does not work and the mouse wheel functions are not replicated. The map is too large to use zoomed in but too small to read when zoomed out.

    I want Opera to use the directional pad and the nunchuk.

    I want the Wii to recognize standard USB devices like keyboards. Maybe not iPods, but at least keyboards.

    Reply
  6. I guess we won’t see the WII community on WordPress.com growing significantly then. Oh well. Or maybe it will but using text speak.

    Nintendo! What have you done?

    Reply
  7. i had someone visit my blog on the wii. they also commented. i did notice they were on the page for a long while before i got a comment. perhaps i know the reason why now.

    Reply
  8. The wireless controller provides a curious alternative to a password though… your signature, signed in mid air…

    Reply
  9. Robin

     /  January 19, 2007

    Rich, you talk as if signatures are (or ever were) secure :-) My girlfriend signs on my card frequently. She can because I have a unisex name and my card carries no title.

    Reply
  10. LOL….I tried it too. You’re right….baaaad plan, but it works fairly well. And it takes forever to leave comments – admin is a nightmare too. But I’ve only had it two days, and I’m still getting used to the whole control thing.

    It does raise a couple of cool possibilities though, but as yet, I’m not heralding it as the ‘wave of the future’ that some is hopping up and down about.

    Reply
  11. WordPress blogs are at least readable from a Wii, especially with this plugin.

    A similar plugin exists for the Nintendo DS.

    Reply
  12. mike

     /  January 19, 2007

    @Robin – you don’t have a unisex name, you have a girl’s name.

    Reply
  13. I can’t imagine typing like that at all. Just imaging all the mistakes you’d make! Video game machines have too many features that are completely unnecessary. Besides, if you can afford a Wii, chances are, you have a computer too. And computers are much more efficient.

    Reply
  14. Anything that requires large amounts of typing is a pain — but I’m still pleasantly surprised at how well the Wii browser works. It’s somewhat unstable (being beta and all), but for quick browsing, it’s really quite nice.

    It would be very nice if there were a Bluetooth/USB keyboard — but then again, if you’re blogging from a Wii, you’re probably missing the point…

    Reply
  15. It seems like Dasher would be a perfect input method for the Wii. Is there any way to get it on there?

    Reply
  16. I’m glad to hear that Ajax is working, it hasn’t been on my site for comments. Another clue I should pick-up a javascript 101 manual.

    Reply
  17. Hmm… Dasher would be great with a Wiimote.

    Reply
  18. i2hymnocerous

     /  March 18, 2007

    I was able to type a bit with the Wii. What I didn’t like was there is a text limit on there. I typed two paragraphs before I was stopped. I could not add more to it because it is a text box. Everytime I click on it, it won’t let me type more. It is quite annoying.

    Reply
  19. I’ve used IRC from the wii, it wasn’t pretty…

    What gets me is the autocomplete.

    Why is the second suggested opetion for words beginning k– “Kleenex”

    I mean, why?

    Reply
  1. » Blogging From your Wii
  2. WordPress Wednesday: WordPress 2.1 and More at The Blog Herald

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,667 other followers

