Website: Digidesign

One of the things I’ve done along the way is record sound with some excellent gear. Pro Tools was extremely learnable software. So when I thought about getting new recording software and/or hardware I went to Digidesign.com.

It took a moment to learn to navigate their website. The flash banner ad-looking thing at the top is actually part of the nav menu. Go figure. I condition myself to ignore flash in certain shapes, sizes and locations. It saves me time and money so I estimate it’s a good evolutionary step until I come here and lose a few minutes to haphazard navigation.

Putting my psyche aside for a moment, take a look at that site. Try it out. Go find a product called Pro Tools M-Powered. Is it readable? Isn’t that a lot of awfully small text? If I hit Ctrl-+ to enlarge the text something in the sidebar loses its position. If I hit it again the buttons go haywire. Whatever, now I can read the gear vitals.

They have most of the copy hidden in expanding Create, Record, Mix and Share headers that operate in an awefully familiar way. Nice headers. View Source. Yup, Prototype. But what’s this in the HTML head? A large HTML comment with “Digidesign.com v.5.0 Credits” which consists of eleven people and their titles. Nice idea.

I noted that there’s a lot of copy on these pages. That wouldn’t fly if I were describing products to certain audiences, but you have to know who would be reading this page. This is where gearheads go. They want every morsel of detail that you can cook up. They want every ratio, bit, hertz, and CamelCase TradeMark. They want screenshots and hi-res photos of every knob, readout, slider and jack.

All of those things are here in an interface that gets you into a learning mode right away. They know that if I learn about their products I’ll try to find an excuse to buy them. This is a smart site, Digidesign.com v.5.0 Team.

Published by

Andy Skelton

Code Wrangler @ Automattic youtube.com/AndySkelton