Sandbox 0.6.1 Live

We just deployed Sandbox 0.6.1 as a zip file and here on WordPress.com. These minor markup changes may affect your blog’s appearance:

  • There are now previous/next navigation links above the content as well as below. These can be selected with #nav-above and #nav-below.
  • The dl/dt/dd at the top of the archives have been simplified. No more crazy default styles to contend with.
  • The entry-meta separators now have a “metasep” class. This makes Asides much easier to do!
  • Whitespace has been removed from #globalnav to accommodate a problem in Internet Explorer.
  • The pesky abbr tag is now wrapped in a div with an “entry-date” class.

In reviewing category.php, Scott noted that it didn’t make sense for each post to have links to the current category archive. With some custom code, we now display “Also posted in…” if there are any other categories to show. See it on my WordPress category archive page.

One more change comes to mind: I removed a whole lot of code almost every Sandbox template file. I’ll tell you about it in another post.

If you have published a Sandbox stylesheet, thank you and please update it as soon as possible!

Published by

Andy Skelton

Code Wrangler @ Automattic youtube.com/AndySkelton

18 thoughts on “Sandbox 0.6.1 Live”

  1. I don’t know which blog post to reply to😀

    Andy, would you mind considering to add a class to linkcat-IDs for example:

    <li id="linkcat-1" class="linkcat">

    Same goes to Widgets.

  2. @Scott,
    Thanks for letting us know about the post on your site! To be a bigger pain than I already am, I would sure like to see a standalone sandbox site to localise all things sandbox!

    Let me know if you need help with anything…

  3. Looking at the source it seems like the theme is internationalised. I would like to use if for my Swedish blog, and I’m wondering if I have to bundle it up with the global translation file, or if it’s possible to make a separate one for the theme.

  4. Björn: the theme is in its own textdomain. I believe this means it requires its own translation file, though I’m unilingual so I’ve not tried it.🙂

  5. Thanks for the answers on translation. I’ll probably switch to Sandbox mainly because of the nice internationalisation. My pet peeve about WordPress up until now has been that even though the program itself is nicely internationalised, you’ve had to translate nearly every theme yourself.

  6. The Sandbox would be a great theme to switch to. It’s got great legacy potential and its framework allows for unlimited customization. You could change the appearence of your blog anytime without actually have to change the theme (or build one, or relearn one, etc.).

    Glad you like it, and thanks for the nice words!

  7. Also, I’m wondering about any plans on converting any of the other themes on plaintxt.org to Sandbox stylesheets. I’m mainly wondering about my favourite theme, veryplaintxt.

  8. Yes, I am planning on revisions (i.e., improvements) to my original plaintxt.org themes (blog.txt, veryplaintxt, and plaintxtBlog) with the Sandbox. Right now, though, I’m focused on making the Sandbox as good as possible. I’d also like to produce a few new skins for it, before updating the old ones.😉

  9. My Bad Andy.. I did not look closely enough. The theme resembles the K2 WP theme.. And I thought it was it.

    What I would also like to see is a couple of skins if they are ready..

Comments are closed.