23 thoughts on “Too Much Knowledge!”

  1. I would say, I learnt a lot form the codex. It’s really useful for newbies with absolutely no experience with WP. (my case)

  2. I gave up on the codex not long after starting with wordpress. The only thing I’ve ever found really useful are the bits about installing and upgrading WP.

    The problem with the codex is that I don’t think it’s written for complete newbies like I was. Hell, I’ve been using WP for anost 2 years now and I still don’t understand the codex. It seems to be written by people who know php for people who know php, leaving the rest of us out in the cold.

    If this is a serious proposal to get the darn thing rewritten, then let me know as while I wouldn’t be any good at contributing, I’d love the chance to put together a nice long list of things that could be improved🙂

  3. It’s due for an overhaul I’d say, so much info being crammed into the system developed when WP wasn’t as popular, its overflowing.

  4. Same here.

    It’s almost impossible to find anything. Like a few others have said, the Forum is the place I now seek answers.

    The amount of info in the codex is overwhelming – and sometimes contradictory.

    An overhaul is long overdue.

  5. The wp-docs mailing list is ripe for this discussion. Many of the issues brought up here have been discussed there before, and until people take action, it is what it is. As far as search features, if you use the custom theme, the search uses the wp.org search function, which is much better than the built in search that you get when you use the monobook theme. Bottom line is the Codex is far more accessible than the code, with far less participation.

  6. I was one of the first to jump in to the Codex when it was originally conceived by Matt. I knew from the start that there would need to be some strong management needed.

    It never happened. Codex is an example of open source difficulties. You need the muscle of many, but it meant that too much was open to too much change too often.

    The wiki is a great concept for gathering the information, however, it is terrible at presenting it in a coherent fashion when its managed by volunteers who sometimes suffer when those people raise their voices and try to make some sense out of it all.

    I was soon pushed aside and eventually ignored altogether, and I simply walked away from it all. I had been such a huge proponent of the effort and I put my own blood, sweat and tears into the project only to walk away in utter frustration and even contempt.

    The semantics of the wiki were too often an issue and some of the early Codex pioneers forgot that the information that was to be created was the most important part.

    The Codex lacks respect from the highest levels of WordPress, given the fact that it is far too often unavailable due to server or other behind-the-scenes issues.

    Writing documentation is not sexy like writing code.Hackers are the knights in shining armour of WordPress, while those who toil in the endless loops and quagmire of the Codex are the serfs who polish the armour to its brilliant shine. It’s a thankless job. Just ask me…I know all about that personally.

  7. I was searching for the_excerpt_rss () template tag the other day, and the yahoo results didn’t even come close to what I was looking for. I eventually just had to follow the bread trail link by link until I found it.

    I just wanted to know what arguments it took and the whole process cost me 8 minutes.

  8. I find the codex to be very usefull when you have no experience at all with wordpress. I am fairly savvy when it comes to PHP and that’s why the codex is helpfull. I agree that a lot of the 1.5 info in the codex should be rewritten for the 2.x branch.

  9. Amen, brutha. Finding answers in either the codex or the forums is such a needle-in-a-haystack proposition, said haystack composed largely of hay that is at least a year old. I end up frustrated that all the time I spent looking for an answer is time that I didn’t spend, um, blogging.

  10. OK – so don’t everyone jump up-N-down here, I’m not defending the Codex, but take a moment to reflect.

    What is the _goal_ of the Codex? If it is to give us WP-hackers some leads on where to get more info, then, expecation(s) set and met. If it is to explain and train on everything needed to implement something, hmmm, that’s huge. I beleive this issues comes down to several levels of users needing a few different types of information from the same repository.

    I, 8 months ago, was VERY new to WP. I am an old ‘C’ programmer and perl hacker and PHP was far too new to me. See, I didn’t jump from perl to python, so, PHP was, shocking. 🙂

    ‘Nuf said, eh? 🙂

    I still don’t have all my bearings, or marbles!, when it comes to making my WP blog work. There are still, oddities, that make me just rip something out of the sidebar, say … and that just means I need to get to _know_ my environment and the tool.

    So, I buy books and bookmark web pages and whack away at a sample template on the side. Then, when I am really stuck, I hop on over to the Codex and see if there is a jewel there somewhere, if I can rip out something that is there that bugs me, or if doing what I want to do will just flat out break my blog …

    For me, the Codex could use _more_ and more real-world examples and full implementation notes – for non-PHP types that are stuck on perl-World … 🙂 But is that right? Is that what everyone needs? Or am I just a freakin’ freak ’cause I just won’t let go of perl? 🙂

    As the guy says on NFL Films, “You make the call.”

    Take care everyone!

Comments are closed.