5 thoughts on “GOTO in PHP 5.3”

  1. Ha! Slashdotters and such will have a field day mocking PHP when they find out about that one.

    But it does make me reminiscent for my good old BASIC days :-)

    I guess by “three years” you mean before 5.3 is mainstream. Because it will certainly go gold by the end of this year unless something goes horribly wrong. Really looking forward to it’s speed boost to finally escape PHP4…

  2. Well, not really, you can only GOTO a label. If they are mocking PHP, then they really don’t understand why GOTO was horrible practice.

  3. Goto in Object oriented PHP5. Insanity.

    I guess the slashdotters will be mocking it because it’s a bad idea that encourages sloppy design.

  4. There’s enough shocking PHP code out there as it is.
    Half the “PHP is revolutionary” camp is all about OO. Then they go and do this.

  5. Apparently when I confronted the dev team years back about making class methods use late binding I was told it was “incorrect” and “bad” OOP …

    Oh but using GOTO is “good” OOP ;-)

Comments are closed.