Adding Songs to Baby Dance

The girls (3 & 4) have a tiny subset of my music library on their devices. It’s time to update their playlist which I named Baby Dance back when they were babies. They hear songs they want from my library and ask for them. Some I added by request, some by paternalartistic edict. Might as well give them a good dose of the stuff that’ll be making them roll their eyes after they become convinced that all parents are lame. Mom will let me know if I accidentally added anything that doesn’t belong.

The Beatles – Love Me Do, Penny Lane, Help!
Ben Folds – Still Fighting It
Blind Melon – No Rain
Bob Dylan – Leopard-Skin Pill-Box Hat, Just Like a Woman
Bob Marley – Three Little Birds
Cake – Short Skirt/Long Jacket
Caribou – Andorra (album)
Carole King – I Feel The Earth Move
Construction Joe – Lizard
The Dave Brubeck Quartet – Time Out (album)
Erik Satie – Three Gymnopédies 1-3
Frank Turner – Dan’s Song
Jack Johnson – Mudfootball
Jamiroquai – Cosmic Girl
Manitoba/Caribou – Up In Flames (album)
Outkast – My Favorite Things
Phish – Stealing Time From The Faulty Plan, Esther, Tweezer, Chalk Dust Torture
Queen – You’re My Best Friend
Shawn Wasabi – Marble Soda
Soundtrack – Broken Flowers (Ethiopian jazz)
Soundtrack – Waking Life (tango)
Thievery Corporation – The Mirror Conspiracy (album)
UB40 – The Way You Do The Things You Do
Underworld – Dubnobasswithmyheadman (album)

They already have a lot of songs and kids’ albums but I’m always looking for recommendations.

Published by

Andy Skelton

Code Wrangler @ Automattic youtube.com/AndySkelton

3 thoughts on “Adding Songs to Baby Dance”

  1. Good evening,
    I too share with my children the gift of quality music. Here are my recommendations:
    Chicago – Saturday in the Park
    Christopher Cross – Ride Like the Wind
    Cold Play – Paradise
    Cyndi Lauper – Time After Time
    Donald Fagen – IGY (What a Beautiful World)
    Elvis Presley – Rubberneckin
    England Dan and John Ford Coley – Love is the Answer
    Howard Jones – Things Can Only Get Better
    Huey Lewis and The News – Do You Believe in Love?
    Journey – Don’t Stop Believing
    Pharrell Williams – Happy
    Red Hot Chili Peppers – Give it Away
    Sam Cooke – A Change is Gonna Come
    Steely Dan – Aja
    Stevie Wonder – I Just Called To Say I Love You
    Queen – Bohemian Rhapsody

    Let me know what you think. While selecting the songs, I was mindful of their tender ages.
    Take care of yourself, so that you may take care of those who love you.

Comments are closed.